2013 Award Winner & Finalists

2013 Fernando Award Winner

Nancy Cartwright
Nominated By: Richard Leyden, North Valley Regional Chamber of Commerce

Award-winning actress Nancy Cartwright is best known to the public as the voice of spiky-headed underachiever Bart Simpson on the long-running animated television show The Simpsons. The success of the Simpsons TV program has allowed Nancy to expand into the philanthropic arena, devoting her time and service to the San Fernando Valley, especially supporting organizations that help children.

She has helped raise funds to build a Youth Center for Devonshire PALS. The Center benefits thousands of children in programs like Cadets, Jeopardy, and tutoring during after school hours. She supports Children’s Day with the North Valley Chamber of Commerce. She has sponsored scholarships at CSUN’s Teenage Drama Workshop and has served as emcee of the Boys & Girls Club “Youth of the Year” award. The Boys & Girls Clubs honored Nancy with their “Shining Star Award”.

Nancy actively supports Famous Fone Friends and Make-A Wish Foundation. She has hosted seminars that teach families to use communication skills to improve the dynamic within their household, using the non-religious guide The Way to Happiness booklet. As the Co-Founder of Happy House, a non-profit organization that strives to build better families, Nancy and her volunteers are currently helping hundreds of youths through the Good Choices Program. It is a unique character-building program and is taught in the schools, after school hours.

In this past year, Nancy participated in a total of 37 events as an artist, a volunteer, Honorary Mayor and/or as a humanitarian.

2013 Fernando Award Finalists

Laura Carthcart Robbins
Nominated By:San Fernando Valley Rescue Mission

Fritz Coleman
Nominated By: New Directions For Youth

Martin Cooper
Nominated By:New Horizons, Boys& Girls Club of the West Valley

Paul Davis
Nominated By: ONEgeneration, Valley Community Clinic

Susan Dubrin
Nominated By:Child Development Institute, Encino Chamber of Commerce

Steven Roy Fazio
Nominated By: HF Bert Boeckmann II, 1976 Fernando Recipient,  Jane Boeckmann, 1986 Fernando Recipient

Dara Lynn Laski 
Nominated By: Winnetka Chamber of Commerce

Emily Manansala-Roberts
Nominated By: We Care for Humanity, Pilipino Chamber of Commerce

Sean McCarthy
Nominated By: Woodland Hills Tarzana Chamber of Commerce, Rose Goldwater, 2001 Fernando Recipient

Nicolas Montano
Nominated By: Chatsworth Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis Club of Chatsworth

Gwyn Petrick
Nominated By: Valley Cultural Center

Become a Benefactor or Patron

Donate to the Fernando Awards

The Fernando Award

The Fernando Award is the highest award for volunteerism and philanthropy in the San Fernando Valley. It is supported by the Valley Chambers of Commerce, civic and philanthropic organizations, entrepreneurs and corporations located in the San Fernando Valley.

2017 Fernando Award Scholarship Donors

Bruce Miller, CPA
Gelb/Fernando Scholarship
Bert and Jane Boeckmann
Karl Boeckmann

Fernando Award Nomination Packet

Download the 2017 the Fernando Awards nomination packet.

2017 Fernando Award Video

View the 2017 Awards Gala Video from Director, Editor, and Producer of Bluewater Digital, Manny Martinez. Special Thanks to Gary Thomas and Deborah Sable, who were the Executive Producers of this event.

Email Updates

Enter your email address below to receive email updates about the Fernando Awards including news and upcoming events.