2017 Board of Directors


David Honda – Chairman
2009 Fernando Award Recipient
Gary Thomas – Vice President
Aaron, Thomas & Associates
Deborah Sable – Vice President,
Event Chair

Bruce Miller – Treasurer
Bruce Miller & Associates
Khoa Nguyen – Secretary



Wayne Adelstein
Decision Publications
Marty Cooper
2014 Fernando Award Recipient
Cooper Communications
Rafael Garcia
Republic Services
Robert D. Gunsalus
CSUN Foundation President
Marian Jocz
United Chambers of Commerce
Marty Kassowitz
Interest Factory
Mark Levinson
2015 Fernando Award Recipient
Law Office of Mark L. Levinson
Richard Leyden
Leyden & Associates
Joan Maltese
Child Development Institute
Sim Tang-Paradis
City National Bank
Gloria Pollack
2007 Fernando Award Recipient
Gelb Group, A Family of Companies



Dale Surowitz
2016 Fernando Award Recipient
Providence Tarzana Medical Center


Become a Benefactor or Patron

Donate to the Fernando Awards

The Fernando Award

The Fernando Award is the highest award for volunteerism and philanthropy in the San Fernando Valley. It is supported by the Valley Chambers of Commerce, civic and philanthropic organizations, entrepreneurs and corporations located in the San Fernando Valley.

2017 Fernando Award Scholarship Donors

Bruce Miller, CPA
Gelb/Fernando Scholarship
Bert and Jane Boeckmann
Karl Boeckmann

Fernando Award Nomination Packet

Download the 2017 the Fernando Awards nomination packet.

2017 Fernando Award Video

View the 2017 Awards Gala Video from Director, Editor, and Producer of Bluewater Digital, Manny Martinez. Special Thanks to Gary Thomas and Deborah Sable, who were the Executive Producers of this event.

Email Updates

Enter your email address below to receive email updates about the Fernando Awards including news and upcoming events.